A Down Syndrome Craft – Butterfly Hair Clip

My favorite types of blogs are craft and DIY blogs. I love reading IHeartOrganizing and Homey Oh My! when I have a moment to myself. If I had all the time in the world to do whatever I want I would blog about crafts and DIY, but I don’t have that time. Today however I’m sharing how I created a butterfly hair clip for Gigi to wear at our Buddy Walk this weekend. The butterfly is a symbol for Down syndrome and the official colors are blue and yellow.

Disclaimer: I made this hair clip and took these pictures on the floor of my living room with a baby next to me so be prepared for poor picture quality.

First you’ll need the following:

  • hair clip
  • ribbon
  • glue gun

Start by covering the ugliness of the clip with a strip of ribbon.

IMG_9460

Cut 4 strips of ribbon, two around 3 inches and two more around 4 inches. The shorter strips will be the bottom part of the butterfly wings.

 

 

IMG_9469

If you are clipping the hair up on the right side of the head, you’re going to want to glue to strips as I’m showing below. If the clip is going on the left side of the head then do the opposite. Place the clip on your work surface so that the part of the clip that stays closed is at the top. Glue the long strips at the left and then the shorter strips going out of the right side of the clip. Make sure the printed side of the ribbon is facing down.

IMG_9472

Now it’s time to fold the strips to form the wings. Place a dab of glue at the center of the clip (not shown in picture) then starting with the top left, fold the end so that it meets the glue at the center. Do it for the bottom left next.

 

 

IMG_9473

Then do the top right and finally the bottom right. In the end it should look like this.

IMG_9475

Turn the clip over and glue another strip of any ribbon to the back of the clip. Fold it over and around so that it meets the other end. This will form the body.

IMG_9477

There you go.

IMG_9481

Next I wanted to make the Down syndrome awareness ribbon to glue onto the butterfly so I cut thinner strips of blue and yellow ribbon.

IMG_9483

I formed the loop and glued where the ribbon pieces were overlapping.

IMG_9485

Then I cut the ends to make it look neat.

IMG_9487

Place another dab of glue on the butterfly’s body.

IMG_9488

Stick the ribbon on.

IMG_9489

I didn’t take a picture of the next thing I did, but because I can’t leave things alone and don’t know when to stop, I wanted to add a little bling to the hair clip so I glued a little yellow adhesive gem to the middle of the ribbon.

Depending on the kind of clip you use, you may need to add a strip of something thick, like foam, to create some cushion so that the clip grabs the hair better.

IMG_9492

Ta da!

 

IMG_9496

Getting a picture of the side of her head was nearly impossible because she wouldn’t stop hamming it up for the camera.

IMG_9503

Finally!

IMG_9508


October is Down syndrome awareness month. This month I am participating in a blog challenge for Down syndrome awareness. Click the link below to see a list of more blogs posting for Down syndrome awareness during the month of October…

6 thoughts on “A Down Syndrome Craft – Butterfly Hair Clip

  1. Love your post today it made me cry…trying Mir again this morning he is now on room hopefully he’ll be successful

    Sent from my iPhone

    >

    Like

  2. ,Wow! your little girl looks so pretty especially with the hair clip. Anyway I just bought s bunch of of hair clips from hairclippy.com and I couldn’t wait to surprise my little angel to her coming birthday.

    Like

Leave a Reply

