To The Experienced Parent of a Child With Down Syndrome

Ever since I found out I was having a baby with Down syndrome, over a year ago, I’m surprised at how infrequently I see a child with Down syndrome out and about. It is a very rare occurrence, and we are out quite a bit, at lots of family places – playgrounds, restaurants, theme parks, tourist attractions not to mention the everyday grocery stores, places of worship, and so on. So when I do see a child with Down syndrome it’s like Christmas for me, and then I watch and take notes and hope I’m not staring too much.

So experienced parent, I’m still new to this journey, but the baby with me has Down syndrome too. You probably haven’t noticed me though because you are a veteran and I’m guessing you are not scanning the crowd like I am. Do you even spend time researching Down syndrome on the internet anymore? How have things been? How is your child? Have you been to hell and back with hospital stays and surgeries? Then I start to wonder how my child will be when she is your child’s age. What is school like for your child? I have so many questions and your child is the crystal ball I’m looking for, even though I need to remind myself that every child is different. But most importantly, I want to know how your family is doing, and from the looks of it, things look pretty good, but I’m too scared to ask. If you do see me and recognize that my child is unique like yours, please say something. I promise I won’t ask all of those questions, I just want to say hi.


October is Down syndrome awareness month. This month I am participating in a blog challenge for Down syndrome awareness. Click the link below to see a list of more blogs posting for Down syndrome awareness during the month of October…

2 thoughts on “To The Experienced Parent of a Child With Down Syndrome

Leave a Reply

