Why I Advocate For Down Syndrome

Down syndrome awareness month is coming to an end and I can’t believe I actually managed to blog daily. This felt like a long month. I’m glad I was able to spread a little awareness, but I won’t let it end here just because the month is over. I will let the daily blogging end though!

I was thinking this morning, why do we parents feel the need to advocate? For me personally it’s two reasons. The first reason is selfishly for me to right a wrong that I feel some people may believe I have done. Receiving negative reactions to the diagnosis was like ingredients in a recipe that has been baking inside my subconscious. I don’t think about it at the forefront of my mind but it has caused me to feel compelled to show them that they’re wrong. That it is worth it. That this child is not a mistake. That this child is here for a reason.

The second reason is to spread awareness on a IMG_9616syndrome that people apparently have misconceptions about these days. Even some professionals in the medical field don’t seem completely up to date as they often paint a bleak picture or they throw out cliches such as “they’re always very happy people.” Not true!

I’m not trying to convey that Down syndrome is great and without serious issues. No one wants their child to have Down syndrome, but there are people out there who upon finding out that they’re baby does have Down syndrome are fine with this news. Many of these people are those who have family members with Down syndrome. Some people even adopt children with Down syndrome. These are usually people that have personal experiences with Down syndrome. If everyone had personal experiences with Down syndrome the perception of Down syndrome would be much more positive.

So I hope that I have shared some good information with you. I appreciate all of the positive feedback that I have received IMG_9556over the month. My goal was to share my own personal experiences and educate and I hope I did that. Thank you for reading and wanting to learn as I am learning along with you. And thank you for showing interest in sharing this journey with me.


October is Down syndrome awareness month. This month I am participating in a blog challenge for Down syndrome awareness. Click the link below to see a list of more blogs posting for Down syndrome awareness during the month of October…

3 thoughts on “Why I Advocate For Down Syndrome

  1. I have learned so much from your blog. Gigi will have a beautiful, and bright future.She
    can’t miss with her wonderful parents and sisters. I’m so proud of you all.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Tina – your blog posts are informational, inspirational and very well written. Down syndrome awareness is very lucky to have you as an advocate. You and Brendan have a beautiful family!

    Like

Leave a Reply

