Our Local Community

Today we got what I felt like we missed last week when we didn’t meet anyone at the Buddy Walk. Today we attended our local playgroup for children with Down syndrome that we had only been able to attend a few other times. When I say local, I mean within the state, which means some people come from as far as over an hour away to attend. It was a Halloween costume party. Gigi went as Snow White.

We saw friends that we met at the last few meet-ups and we also met new people including older children, one age 5 and the other 12. Meeting these two girls gave me a better understanding of what children with Down syndrome are like and therefore answered a lot of my questions. They made me realize that they really aren’t that much different than my own two older girls. I appreciated speaking with their parents as well who had a lot of great advice.

This is our new community who we enjoy spending time with and these are some of the nicest, most caring, most down-to-earth people I have ever met.

IMG_9701

This is Gigi’s friend, Evie. If you would like to read more about Evie’s adventures click here!


October is Down syndrome awareness month. This month I am participating in a blog challenge for Down syndrome awareness. Click the link below to see a list of more blogs posting for Down syndrome awareness during the month of October…

6 thoughts on “Our Local Community

Leave a Reply

